October 19

Math Talks

I’m hoping our grade 3’s are sharing stories of their math learning each day.  We have really progressed with our math talks. I spend a quick 10 minutes with a string of math related addition and subtraction questions. I’ve  been working with students getting them to reflect, connect and represent their thinking. The strings are designed to build math strategies which can be incorporated in our math lesson for the day. Students are now able to mentally do quick addition and subtraction and articulate their strategy to their peers.  Here is an example of our math talk this morning.

 

20161019-143616.jpg


Posted October 19, 2016 by jennifer burrows in category General

About the Author

Welcome to my Classroom Blog! My name is Jennifer Burrows and I've been teaching the primary grades for the last 16 years. This year I will be your child's language and math teacher. I am a full time teacher however my afternoons will be spent as a math coach in our school. In our fast moving technological society, I have created a classroom blog that you can check from your computer, tablet or mobile phone. Our classroom learning is now at the tip of your finger, not on your fridge held by a magnet.

2 thoughts on “Math Talks

  1. Marjorie Lavery

    Hi there! I can’t wait to ask Thomas about the math learning! I cannot see the example you posted. Is it a picture? Thanks!

    Reply
    1. jennifer burrows (Post author)

      I tried to post a video to our blog of our math thinking, unfortunately I can’t configure it with edublogs. I’ll just post pictures. I was so incredibly proud of our math lesson today – all our students did an excellent job articulating their math thinking.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *